You are here

Sunderland RCA Awards

Submitted by Liam Dufferwiel on Monday, 21 June 2010

Sunderland RCA’s presentation evening took place on Saturday the 5th of June to commemorate the clubs fantastic achievements at all levels over the course of the 2009/10 season.

After consecutive fourth place finishes in the Northern League Second Division Sunderland RCA’s First Team achieved promotion after finishing runners-up to Stokesley in a tight, hard fought campaign.

All the players deserve credit for the incredible achievement which saw the club return to the Northern League First Division for the first time in over 20 years and the evening was designed to identify this as well as the accomplishments of the Under 18’s side and Sunderland RCA The Barnes. However, the awards to recognise the individual contributions of players were also presented.

In a double swoop Goalkeeper Gary Hoggeth took home the Player of the Year award as well as the Players Player of the year award. Hoggeth kept 15 clean sheets over the course of the season including eight in eight appearances over Christmas and into the turn of the year. Steve Jones was voted Fans Player of the Year while Mark Davison earned the award for Top Scorer with 27 goals in 46 appearances.

Elsewhere, Sunderland RCA Under 18’s once again had a good season vindicated by the fact the clubs Overall Young Player of the Year Graeme Pickering took the step up into the First Team making four appearances over the course of the season. The award for the Under 18’s Player of the Season went to Peter Deary and the Players Player of the Year award went to Liam Dunn. The award for Top Goal Scorer went to Lee Andrews who hit 9 goals in his first two league games.

The Sunday League side Sunderland RCA The Barnes also had a fantastic season winning both the Total Sport Challenge Trophy and the Joe Holborn Memorial Cup as well as finishing runners up in the Sunderland Sunday Premier League. The Barnes Player of the Year award went to Jonathan Davis and winner of the Players Player of the Year was Phillip Hall.

Story type: